Skip to Main Content

OPAL Conferences: Home

Explore current and past OPAL Annual Conferences and Presentations

2023 Summer Engagement Series

Summer Engagement Series Image

2023 OPAL Summer Engagement Series


In lieu of having an OPAL Annual Conference this summer, OPAL will sponsor two ways to engage in professional development. This way OPAL can meet each staff member where they are and however they desire to receive professional development opportunities.

OPAL members can actively participate in the ALAO conference:

  • OPAL will provide the early bird registration rate for 1 staff member per OPAL library (selected by the library).
  • OPAL will cover the registration costs of any OPAL member presenting or facilitating a poster session at the ALAO conference.
  • Depending on funding availability after the early bird registration period ends, OPAL may fund additional registrations at the discretion of the DC.

OPAL will also sponsor a Summer Engagement Series. This series will offer all members the opportunity to meet to discuss an article, podcast, and book as suggested by attendees. This series is intended to provide additional opportunities for all OPAL members to get acquainted with each other during a less busy time of the year.

Past Conferences

Past OPAL Conferences

2022 (23rd Annual Conference)

OPAL Unplugged
Virtual Conference

OPAL Service Award Recipient - Suzy Schroeder-Green
Link to film festival videos (OPAL Repository - Select "Conference Presentations" then the 2022 folder, contact support if you need repository password)

2021 (22nd Annual Conference)

Packing for the Future: What to Take With You and What to Leave Behind
Virtual Conference 

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Susan Furniss (OhioNet)
OPAL Service Award Recipient — Tiffany Lipstreu (Otterbein University)
Link to session recordings

2020 (21st Annual Conference)

Acting With Agency: Coordinating, Preparing, Doing
Virtual Conference hosted jointly with PALNI

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Laura D'Amato (Baldwin Wallace)
Essential Piece Award Recipient — Andrew Whitis (University of Findlay)
Link to session recordings

2019 (20th Annual Conference)

High Touch Service in a High Tech World
Mount St. Mary's Seminary & School of Theology (Athenaeum)

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Gina Maida (Mount Union)

2018 (19th Annual Conference)

Stronger Together: Voices Raised in Advocacy
Otterbein University

OPAL Service Award Recipient —Matt Polcyn (OhioNet)
OPAL Essential Piece Special Recognition — Michael Butler (OhioNet)

2017 (18th Annual Conference)

Engagement and Collaboration: What More Can We Do?
Baldwin Wallace University

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Beverly Lane (PCJ)

2016 (17th Annual Conference)

Library Transformers: Mindful Change
Muskingum University

OPAL Service Award Recipient — David W. Green (OhioNet)

2015 (16th Annual Conference)

Library Affect: How We Shape Student Learning and Research
University of Findlay

OPAL Service Award Recipient — LuAnn Boris (Franciscan)
OPAL Essential Piece Special Recognition — Jean Mulhern (Wilmington)

2014 (15th Annual Conference)

The Customer is Always... the Customer: Providing Top Notch Service in a Multiple Choice World
Methodist Theological Seminary in Ohio
with Pre-Conference hosted by and at Trinity Lutheran Seminary

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Claire Ballinger (Athenaeum)
OPAL Essential Piece Special Recognition — Julie McDaniel (Urbana)

2013 (14th Annual Conference)

Creativity and Collaboration

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Collette Knight (Defiance)
OPAL Essential Piece Special Recognition — Jack Wu (Franciscan)

2012 (13th Annual Conference)

Swimming with the Sharks Without Ending Up on the Menu
Franciscan University

OPAL Service Award Recipients — Betsy Salt (Otterbein) and Nicole Robinson (Muskingum)

2011 (12th Annual Conference)

Uncommon Learning in the Information Commons
University of Mount Union
with pre-conference jointly hosted by Malone University & Walsh University

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Jamie Lattimer (Urbana)

2010 (11th Annual Conference)

That was Then, This is Now...
Urbana University

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Stan Terhune (Malone)

2009 (10th Annual Conference)

Think Outside the Book – Do More With Less
Lourdes University

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Barb Sedlock (Defiance)

2008 (9th Annual Conference)

OPAL 2.0 – Honoring Our Past, Building Our Future
Pontifical College Josephinum

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Andrew Whitis (Muskingum)

2007 (8th Annual Conference)

OPAL '007 – That Special 'Bond'
Wilmington College

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Jennie Thomas (Athenaeum)

2006 (7th Annual Conference)

Special Collections, Special People: Celebrating the Unique
Bluffton University

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Zelda Patterson (Muskingum)

2005 (6th Annual Conference)

Strength From Within
Mount Carmel College of Nursing
with pre-conference hosted by CCAD

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Lois Szudy (Otterbein)
OPAL Essential Piece Special Recognition — Matt Polcyn (OhioNet)

2004 (5th Annual Conference)

Finding OPAL
Muskingum University

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Mary Jean Johnson (Bluffton)

2003 (4th Annual Conference)

OPAL 5th Anniversary
Tiffin University

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Jane Wu (Otterbein)

2002 (3rd Annual Conference)

OPAL: The Next Generation
University of Mount Union

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Bruce Weaver (DeVry)

2001 (2nd Annual Conference)

Boldly into the Future
Otterbein University

OPAL Service Award Recipient — Tony Bandy (OhioNet)

2000 (1st Annual Conference)

Meet Your 'O'PALs
Otterbein University

OPAL Service Award Recipients — Kathleen Aufderhaar (Bluffton) and Sr. Deborah Harmeling (Athenaeum)

Conference Materials

Clickable links open the conference page. When available, presentations can be accessed through the individual conference program/schedule pages.  Presentations and conference planning documents older than 5 years may be found in the OPAL Repository, which is accessible to OPAL Members.


To submit past presentations for inclusion, fill out the permissions form (1 for each author with the same permissions for all) and send a copy of the presentation to