2017 OPAL Annual Conference: Friday Schedule

Infolit and Liberal Arts: A Match Made in the Library
Nimisha Bhat - Columbus College of Art and Design
Chris Mannix - Columbus College of Art and Design
Location: CIG 105
Conference Tracks: Services, Sustaining Partnerships
The Packard Library serves the Columbus College of Art & Design’s small, diverse community of students who use the library for a variety of purposes to support their education. While some seek the library as a quiet refuge to work, others look to our materials as a source of inspiration for their art. Because the curriculum of CCAD is not as research-heavy as a traditional college, Packard Library has a unique role in helping our students navigate information and visual literacy so that they may create, design, and critique. 
In our efforts to create an information literacy instruction program that would best serve our students we felt that reaching out to our Liberal Arts faculty about tailoring teaching syllabus and promoting our work made perfect sense. By getting a better understanding of the needs of students and instructors in our Liberal Arts programs, we were able to create lesson plans and teaching strategies unique to them during the summer of 2016. Over the course of the 2016-2017 academic year we have been able to see noticeable and positive changes in our network. Not only are our Liberal Arts faculty more engaged with the library and our instruction program, but we have been able to see our students make improvements in their assignments and how they navigate the library in general. 
Through surveys and assessment we hope to present a narrative that shows how creating a connection between the library and the Liberal Arts department at CCAD can serve as an important stepping stone for reaching out to the rest of our academic community to help engage our students, and as a valuable example of how sustainable partnerships can be made in the library.  

Establishing Library Partnerships and Collaboration With Diverse Organizational Departments
Aaron Coldren - Mount Carmel Health System
Location: CIG 106
Conference Tracks: Sustaining Partnerships, Collaboration Strategies
Library information services and resources are efficient for all of our academic and professional health care departments. MCHS colleagues and professional medical staff utilize MCHS Library services for providing the information, instruction and education they need to better serve their educational, clinical and patient care needs. As a Health Sciences Librarian, I serve in providing reference support and collaboration with MCHS departments including, Hospice and Palliative Care, Graduate Medical Education groups of Internal Medicine and Family Medicine, Allied Health and Pharmacy. All of these departments benefit from the engagement with library services. For instance, our library provides up-to-date medial information and literature, diverse resources, technology support and reference needs, in order to support their overall education and learning.
I am responsible for providing information and reference support to help educate diverse MCHS colleagues and staff. I use professional library databases, medical textbooks, and other evidence-based practice resources to search for and provide high-quality information literature. Examples of services and support that I have provided are: design and construction of various LibGuides, perform literature searches on different medical conference cases, and direct patient care involvement through clinical rounding.
In this presentation, I will focus on the impact library services have on education, learning, curriculum development and direct patient care, of diverse MCHS departments. Also, I will provide an overview of one year's worth of statistical data and usage of library interactions and services. Finally, I will highlight the importance of establishing and sustaining partnerships with diverse MCHS organizational departments in order to successfully and efficiently impact the education, learning and partnership of MCHS organizational departments. Future steps are to continue to support to current organizational departments, and to connect and engage with other organizational departments of MCHS, including Radiology and Mount Carmel Medical Group physicians.

You’re Hired!: Better Techniques for Hiring and Training Student Workers
Cassandra Lagunzad Brown - Heidelberg University
Gina Maida - University of Mount Union
Joni Streber - Wilmington College
Location: CIG 107
Conference Tracks: Services, Spaces, Sustaining Partnerships, Collaboration Strategies
A panel of Circulation Supervisors share techniques and approaches for hiring and training student workers within an academic library setting. The information is based on experiences and customer service best practices. While this discussion is intended to engage Circulation Supervisors, these hiring and training techniques can also be applied to Cataloging, Acquisitions, and other areas that utilize student workers. Positive results of applying these techniques include student workers feeling more confident in their jobs and staff members having more confidence in student workers. Patrons will benefit from customer service that is both reliable and congenial. Hiring and training competent Student Workers improves overall morale and productivity. The topics covered will include Interview Techniques, Job Descriptions, and Training.

The Ohio Digital Network: Bringing Ohio Into the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Meghan Frazer - OhioLINK
Location: CIG 108
Conference Tracks: Services, Spaces, Sustaining Partnerships, Collaboration Strategies 
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) aims to link openly available materials from libraries, museums and archives and make those riches easily discovered and more widely usable and used. The Ohio Digital Network, Ohio’s DPLA Service Hub, will bring together public libraries, academic libraries, historical societies and museums with the goal of introducing Ohio’s rich cultural heritage materials to a national audience. Plus, by including these materials in the DPLA, Ohio citizens will be able to view them alongside other relevant items submitted around the country.  
The Ohio academic library community will benefit from increased visibility of digital collections, as well as from professional development opportunities provided state-wide as part of the project. Further, the Ohio Digital Network project is creating a network of librarians – across library type – that can be utilized to share digital collection expertise in the state.  
The user community will benefit from the co-location of Ohio’s digital cultural heritage materials with collections from around the country. Beyond just the traditional search interface, the APIs available for the DPLA can be utilized to create specialized search engines for specific topics or communities – such as a search which finds relevant materials to match an elementary school social studies lesson plan.  
Academic libraries can connect to DPLA through the Ohio Digital Network (ODN) and OhioLINK, which is serving as a Community Engagement Center (CEC) for Ohio’s academic institutions. This session will provide an update on the ODN project and cover the following topics: a review of the structure of the DPLA project in Ohio; upcoming professional development opportunities for librarians; how to get involved as an individual library; criteria for collections to be included in the project and steps for being on boarded to the Ohio Digital Network. 

Leveraging Student Scholar Programs to Make Hidden Special Collections Accessible
John Curtis - Baldwin Wallace University
Jenna Haas - Baldwin Wallace University [student]
Justin Frankeny - Baldwin Wallace University [student]
Location: CIG 109
Conference Tracks: Services, Spaces, Sustaining Partnerships, Collaboration Strategies
Special collections often accumulate at colleges and universities at a rate much faster than the available staff can process effectively. Baldwin Wallace University created two student scholar programs to address this problem for its two special collections facilities. The Riemenschneider Bach Institute created the Undergraduate Bach Scholar Program to process hidden music collections, and The Paul and Josephine Mayer Rare Book Room created the Scholar Award to process hidden rare book and manuscript collections. 
These programs bring together student researchers and special collections faculty in a collaborative effort to make previously hidden special collections accessible to the worldwide research community. 
To date, one Bach Scholar and two Rare Book Scholars have completed their research. 
The following collections and artifacts were processed: 

• The Harry L. Ridenour Ohio Folk Song Collection, 
• The Alfred C. Quati Communion Token Collection, 
• The Edward D. Kuekes Comic Art Collection,
• French language books in The Mayer Rare Book Room,
• and a 1755 first edition of Samuel Johnson’s A Dictionary of the English Language containing the marginalia of Samuel Gwinett (1732-1792). 

Both programs have helped Baldwin Wallace University humanities majors fulfill their experiential learning requirement. The student scholars received payment for their research with funds supplied by the Riemenschneider and Mayer families. Special Collections faculty have benefited from the unique skills and knowledge applied to the collections by the Student Scholars. External researchers have benefited by the online publication of cataloging records, detailed finding aids, and scanned documents. 

Breaking Silos: Building Information Value & Library Trust (Slides available in the Repository to OPAL members)
Catie Carlson - Tiffin University
Location: CIG 105
Conference Tracks: Services
An idea developed out of faculty concerns, Academic Integrity Development, better known as AID, is a support program developed by Tiffin University's Pfeiffer Library. It is designed to transform a student's violation of the academic honesty policy into learning opportunity that is fully documented. We offer instructors a process for students to revise works and to learn more about plagiarism in a structured, documented format that does not require a lot of time for any party. As the program has expanded so have the different silos we've broken down. In this session, learn why and how we developed AID, how AID works at Tiffin University, and what lessons we've learned in expanding services.

Watching vs. Participating: Tools for Interactive Video Tutorials
Lauren Connolly - University of Findlay
Location: CIG 106
Conference Tracks: Services
With the growing number of online learners, it is important that academic libraries create engaging electronic instruction materials that provide the same information students would receive on campus. At the University of Findlay we are working to make interactive video tutorials that discuss and teach elements of information literacy. Currently, we make these videos available through our website and social media pages, but it is our hope that these tutorials will soon be included in online course content, and possibly become part of an information literacy course in the future. This presentation would review multiple tools we have worked with to create interactive video tutorials. The tools have pro’s and con’s, such as price, usability, and customer support. The point of this presentation would be to educate my fellow OPAL members on resources that can be used to further engage with online students and collaborate with online faculty.

Library Sidekicks: Training Student Employees as Peer Instructors
Jessica Long - Miami University Regionals
Jennifer Hicks - Miami University Regionals
Gina Maida- University of Mount Union
Location: CIG 107
Conference Tracks: Services, Sustaining Partnerships, Collaboration Strategies
How do you make strong information literacy specialists out of your student assistants? One way, let them teach. Let them teach through training, orientation, reference and research. Help them build the tools to succeed by becoming the information leaders to their fellow students.  
Academic libraries in the United States often hire student assistants to help cover the staffing responsibilities in the library. They are trained to provide services that make up the daily operations of the facility. However students can provide more than just these mundane, everyday tasks. Employment at the library can help them build skills through peer training, interacting with international students, leading and working on specialized projects, and, ultimately, improve the information literacy skills of not just themselves, but the students they assist.  
Studies have shown that some of the benefits of using students as peer teachers include being relatable, approachable, and easy to understand as librarians can sometimes overcomplicate explanations (Bodemer, 2014; Farrell and Driver, 2010). Looking at the training and workload of student assistants from two university libraries in Ohio, we can see how giving more varied and complex responsibilities can affect student morale and improve their skill set. Observing both of our library models, our presentation will cover how students are initially trained as well as the ways they help us train incoming students.  
Relating the strengths and interests of your student employees to their work assignments can be beneficial to not just the students, but also to the professional staff and patrons that they work with. Participants are invited to learn about our different programs and how we empower our student workers to lead the discussion on information literacy. This presentation will offer best practices on how to train and motivate your student assistants, while also providing the advantages and disadvantages of their employment.  

A Powerful Partnership: Incorporating TRiO Student Support Services into the Library’s Space to Impact Student Success
Carrie Girton - Miami University
Krista McDonald - Miami University
Jamie Viars - Miami University
Location: CIG 108
Conference Tracks: Spaces, Collaboration Strategies
This session will discuss the logistics of incorporating the TRiO Student Support Services (SSS) program into the library's space. When our institution was awarded a five-year, $1.2 million dollar grant from the U.S. Department of Education for the TRiO SSS program, the library was a top choice for collaboration and sharing space. Our appraisal of the effectiveness of the program to date will focus on the effects the location has on student success. We will share video clips of interviews with students in the program describing their experiences as regular library users and TRiO SSS program participants. We will also discuss changes and enhancements that we will be making that will benefit both the TRiO program and other library users.

Using Your Resources to Spur Collaboration
Kieth A. Peppers - Baldwin Wallace University
William C. Barrow - Cleveland State University
Location: CIG 109
Conference Tracks: Collaboration Strategies
The culmination of unique collections, hands-on learning opportunities, and robust software has granted Cleveland State University’s Special Collections the privilege and opportunity to collaborate with numerous organizations throughout Northeast Ohio. From Sandusky to Medina to Mentor, the Cleveland Memory Project has grown in its presence and notoriety. Under the tutelage of William Barrow, Head of Special Collections, students of all ages have gained access to invaluable resources, smaller organizations have found new avenues of promotion, the historical narrative has been expanded, and partnerships have brought a broader understanding of how we can work together. This session will take the form of a conversation between William Barrow and Kieth A. Peppers, former employee of CSU Special Collections and current Archivist of Baldwin Wallace University. 

Wikidata: An Introduction to the Database of the World's Knowledge
Kevin Payravi - The Ohio State University
Location: CIG 105
Conference Tracks:
Imagine Wikipedia's information in a structured form: that's Wikidata. Wikidata is a free, open, collaborative, and multilingual knowledge base that can be read by both humans and machines. It's a central storage for structured data that can be used by Wikipedia and its sister projects, as well as the general public. Wikidata proves to be a powerful and useful tool for libraries, museums, mapping services, developers, and everyday people. 
This session will cover the basics of Wikidata, the problems it solves, and the powerful tasks it can accomplish for people and organizations now, as well as in the future. Learn how people contribute to Wikidata, and how Wikidata can be utilized by anyone for their own projects, queries, and more. This session also offers an opportunity to meet an Ohio Wikimedian and learn how to connect the library community with Wikimedians for knowledge sharing and networking. 

Outreach Via Archives
Kathleen Donohue - Franciscan University of Steubenville
Location: CIG 106
Conference Tracks: Collaboration Strategies
Our library has benefited the university community so far with archival materials used in many roles (website, printed sources, etc.) I just attended a conference at Catholic University of America--so many ways of reaching out and collaborating with community and national groups. I would like to share several exciting ideas that I just heard.

Serving the Distance Learner: A Facilitated Discussion
Steve Shaw - Antioch University
Barb Sedlock - Defiance College
Location: CIG 107
Conference Tracks: Services
With the rise of hybrid and online-only course offerings, small private colleges recognize the need to provide equitable and comparable services to distance learning students while continuing to meet the needs of their face-to-face students, all while coping with limited staff and financial resources. Learn how Antioch University provides services to their distance learners beyond interlibrary loan and journal article access. Defiance College will talk about its experience in creating tutorial videos using Camtasia and YouTube. 
The remainder of the session will be devoted to idea sharing and discussions of both successes and challenges you have experienced when serving off-campus students. This session is aimed at anyone who finds themselves serving distance learning students, no matter what area of the library they work in.  

Help! Our Makerspace is Broken!
Christian Sheehy - Xavier University
Location: CIG 108
Conference Tracks: Spaces
Funding secured, resources purchased, construction completed, and the doors opened… and no one is using the makerspace - where did we go wrong? Did we really waste money and resources? During this session, Christian will share his failures and successes with both public and academic makerspaces. He will provide concrete tips for engaging your users in exciting ways while helping them overcome the “intimidation factor” of using potentially complex (and expensive) equipment in an new and unfamiliar space. No matter what planning stage you are in for your makerspace, these tips will ensure you are better prepared for any unexpected challenges so you can stop worrying and start making! 
Christian joined Xavier University as Digital Initiatives Librarian in 2015 after 7 years of public library management experience. He has 13 years of post-secondary, public, and corporate teaching experience both in-person and online. He has built and managed 2 successful library makerspaces, one public and one academic. He received his B.A. in English from Northern Kentucky University and his MLIS from Drexel University in Philadelphia. When not teaching, tinkering with tech, or managing an institutional repository, he is often seen scribbling with a fountain pen while sipping gunpowder green tea. Connect with him at http://christiansheehy.com. 

Collaborative Connections: Selection – Funding – Implementation
Kieth A. Peppers - Baldwin Wallace University
Wendy Wasman - Cleveland Museum of Natural History
Judy MacKeigan - Cleveland Metroparks
Riza Miklowski - Baldwin Wallace University [student]
Victoria Casper - Baldwin Wallace University [student]
Location: CIG 109
Conference Tracks: Collaboration Strategies, Sustaining Partnerships
How do unrelated organizations seeking a collaborative partnership find funding and how do they make their case? What are the logistics of such a partnership? Those are the questions at the heart of these budding relationships. Both projects live, thrive, and die due to successful funding.  
The Cleveland Metroparks will celebrate their 100th anniversary this year. Spanning eighteen reservations, more than 23,000 acres, and endless programs designed to engage and inspire an appreciation for the natural world, the Metroparks are an integral part of the lives and communities it borders. Providing access to the wealth of historical content preserved within its archives and marketing it to the public has been elusive. Through a collaborative experience, an ambitious project is being attempted that would culminate in the digitization, preservation, and dissemination of this treasure trove via an interactive online resource.  
The Archives of the Cleveland Museum of Natural History, in partnership with the Cleveland Montessori Middle School, Baldwin Wallace University, and the University of Akron, are creating an online repository of archival materials relating to Arthur B. Williams, a Cleveland naturalist and educator who was instrumental in starting the nature centers within the Cleveland Metroparks. The project will develop a curriculum for teaching with these primary sources in middle school and high school science classrooms, experiential learning in higher education, and in the field. The Archives of the Cleveland Museum of Natural History recently received a "Literacy and Engagement with Historical Records" grant from the National Historical Publications & Records Commission (NHPRC). The two-year project expands an ongoing collaboration with the Cleveland Montessori Middle School. Working with the Library at Baldwin Wallace University, the project is creating a digital repository of archival materials relating to Arthur B. Williams, a naturalist and educator who helped establish nature centers within the Cleveland Metroparks. The project also partners with the departments of biology and geosciences at the University of Akron.  
By bringing these two separate but similar collaborative efforts together, we can discuss the duality of certainty and uncertainty within the realm of nonprofit funding.