Cataloging in OPAL is shared. All members use and view the same bibliographic record for an item. When cataloging your materials within OPAL, the most important factor influencing the cataloging process is whether or not an appropriate bibliographic record already exists in the OPAL database. This can only be determined by searching OPAL by OCLC number first.
If an appropriate bibliographic record exists in the OPAL database, DO NOT export a new copy of the record from the OCLC database.
If a record is found to exist in the OPAL database but is found to be inferior to the current record in the OCLC database you should overlay the record using the following example 949 command:
*recs=b;ins=[your login initals];bn=[your library two-letter location code];ov=.bxxxxxxx;[bib record number of record already in OPAL]
In most instances, it is preferable NOT to export a new copy of the record so that local additions not reflected in the OCLC master record are not eliminated. Occasions under which new copies of a bibliographic record can be exported from OCLC include (but are not limited to):
In these instances, great care should be taken to make sure that local enhancements (e.g. enhanced contents notes, local added entries) are not lost. When records are loaded into the OPAL database (e.g. when exporting a record from OCLC), the system does NOT check the OPAL database for an existing copy of the record. If the record exists in the OPAL database (i.e. a record with the same OCLC number), the system will automatically ADD a new record to the database, creating a duplicate record . As such, the OPAL database should be checked for an existing copy of the record before exporting from OCLC, using the process outlined below.
If an appropriate bibliographic record does not exist in the OPAL database, then you should export the appropriate record from the OCLC database.
When an appropriate bibliographic record exists in the OPAL database, you should simply attach an item record (or item records) to represent your holdings. To attach an item record to an existing bibliographic record:
Once the item record has been added to the OPAL database, it is still necessary to update your holdings on the record in OCLC and to print labels for the item(s).
When an appropriate bibliographic record does not exist in the OPAL database, it is necessary to export the appropriate bibliographic record from the OCLC database. To do so, you must add 949 fields to the OCLC record. You should add:
Each bibliographic record exported from OCLC MUST have at least one 949 field added to it before the record is exported. For example:
The following commands must appear in subfield
ins=[your system initials];(e.g. “ins=wajv;”)
bn=[location code];(e.g. “bn=wa;”)
The first 949 can also include any of the following commands in subfield a. For example:
b2=[bibliographic record MAT TYPE code];(e.g. “b2=s;”)
b3=[bibliographic record SUPPRESS code];(e.g. “b3=z;”)
ov=[bibliographic record number or order record number](e.g. “ov=.b12345678;” “ov=.o12345678;”)
Additional 949s with second indicator 1 can be added to instruct the system how to create item records that will be attached to the newly created bibliographic record.
The following subfields should be used to specify the variable-length fields:
|subfield a||–||item record call number’s class number|
|subfield b||–||item record call number’s Cutter number|
|subfield z||–||MARC tag for call number*|
|subfield i||–||item record BARCODE|
|subfield c||–||item record VOLUME|
|subfield g||–||item record COPY #|
|subfield h||–||item record OPACMSG|
|subfield l||–||item record LOCATION|
|subfield m||–||item record MESSAGE|
|subfield n||–||item record NOTE|
|subfield o||–||item record OPAC NOTE|
|subfield q||–||item record ICODE1|
|subfield r||–||item record ICODE2|
|subfield s||–||item record STATUS|
|subfield t||–||item record ITYPE|
|subfield u||–||item record IMESSAGE|
|subfield y||–||item record ACCESSION #|
* This subfield is required if adding a call number. If the call number is a Dewey call number, subfield z should be 092. If the call number is an LC call number, subfield z should be 090. If the call number is a locally-defined call number scheme, the subfield z should be 099.
Example - wagen item
949 1 HD9502.I42 |b D65 2002 |l wagen |z 090 |i 39408000002063
Example - waref item
949 1 LB1028.5 |b .N68 2001 |l waref |z 090 |i 39408000451254
Example - ccgen item
949 1 738 |b P442c |z 092 |g 1 |i 32223000615914 |l ccgen |r – |s p |t 012
Example - ccref item
949 1 Ref. 338.025 |b Oh3s |c 2003 |z 092 |g 1 |i 32223000599308 |l ccref |r – |s p |t 053
Where a record doesn't exist in OCLC, deriving a record in Connexion or WorldShare Record Manager can facilitate original cataloging.